قصص الأمل

العلماء يدرسون تأثير مادة الكارنوزول على سرطان الثدي

العلماء يدرسون تأثير مادة الكارنوزول على سرطان الثدي

يدرس البروفيسور رابح إيراثني من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، العالم الشهير والحاصل على منحة بحثية من مؤسسة الجليلة، نشاط مادة من البوليفينولات الطبيعية، الكارنوزول، وتأثيرها على سرطان الثدي. يندرج مرض سرطان الثدي ضمن الأسباب الرئيسية للوفيات بين النساء حول العالم. ويُعتبر «سرطان الثدي الثلاثي السلبي» TNBCs أكثر أشكال المرض عدوانيةً وتوغلًا، كما يصعب كثيرًا التنبؤ به وتشخيصه مبكرًا. وللأسف، ل...

د. صبا ، رائدة في مجال العلوم

د. صبا ، رائدة في مجال العلوم

يعد سرطان الرئة المنتشر في شتى بقاع العالم أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لوفيات السرطان بين الرجال والنساء، ويحتل المرتبة الثانية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من حيث أكثر الأمراض فتكاً بالأرواح بين مواطني دولة الإمارات. الدكتورة صبا الهيالي، أستاذ مساعد في علم المناعة في جامعة محمد بن راشد للطب والعلوم الصحية، و هي باحثة متميزة تسعى إلى التعرف على الجينات المرتبطة بمرض الربو الحاد وعلاقتها بتطور سرط...

آية تسعى لممارسة مهنة الطب

آية تسعى لممارسة مهنة الطب

لطالما حلمت آية الأخرس بمساعدة الناس. ونظرًا لتميزها في مادة الأحياء في الصفوف الثانوية، قرّرت أن تصبح طبيبة. وبفضل سجلّها الأكاديمي الباهر، قبلت كلية الطب في جامعة محمد بن راشد للطب والعلوم الصحية طلبها للانتساب إلى برنامج بكالوريوس الطب والجراحة في عام 2016، وذلك بعد أن حازت آية منحة دراسية من مؤسسة الجليلة. وقالت آية تعليقًا على ذلك: "بفضل حصولي على منحة مؤسسة الجليلة ودراستي في جامعة محمد ب...

إرادة و عزيمة خالد تلهم المجتمع

إرادة و عزيمة خالد تلهم المجتمع

خالد العلي إماراتي في ريعان شبابه وصاحب ابتسامة متميزة وهمة عالية. ابن الــ 26 عاماً بطل رياضي وسبّاح عالمي من أصحاب الهمم ولاعب منتخب دولة الإمارات للسباحة، يتمتع بالذكاء والطموح ولديه اهتمامات رياضية متعددة كالفروسية وركوب القوارب الشراعية، والتجديف. وقد شارك أيضًا في البطولات الرياضية الدولية في العديد من الدول بما في ذلك تمثيل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في رياضة التجديف في الألعاب الأولم...

ابتسامة بعد معاناة

ابتسامة بعد معاناة

الابتسامة الأولى لها بعد العملية؛ هي لحظة لن ينساها والد بانة نزار حسن، الطفلة السودانية البالغة من العمر 9 أعوام. عانت بانة منذ ولادتها من تعطل كلّي للكلية اليسرى وضمور حجم الكلية اليمنى، وهي حالة تصيب طفلاً من كل 1,000 طفل في العالم. أمضت الصغيرة السنوات الأولى من حياتها تعيش معاناة يومية، حيث خضعت خلالها لكل أنواع الأدوية والعلاجات، حتى تقرّر أخيراً أنها بحاجة إلى إجراء غسيل كلى أو عملية زرا...

Stories of Hope

Scientist studies the effect of carnosol on breast cancer

Scientist studies the effect of carnosol on breast cancer

Celebrated scientist and Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, Professor Rabah Iratni from United Arab Emirates University, is studying a naturally occurring polyphenol, carnosol, and its effect on breast cancer. Breast cancer ranks as the leading cause of cancer death in women worldwide with triple-negative breast cancers (TNBCs) being the most aggressive and invasive form with the wo...

Dr Saba, a leading woman in science

Dr Saba, a leading woman in science

Worldwide, lung cancer is a leading cause of cancer mortality in both men and women and in the UAE it is ranked the second deadliest disease among UAE nationals. Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, Dr Saba Al Heialy, Assistant Professor of Immunology at Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences, is a brilliant researcher who aims to identify genes involved in sev...

Aya pursues a career in medicine

Aya pursues a career in medicine

Aya Akhras’ lifelong dream was to help people and while excelling at biology in high school she set her sights on becoming a doctor. Thanks to her exceptional academic record, in 2016, Aya gained admission to the Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Healthcare Sciences (MBRU) College of Medicine to pursue a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) with a scholarship from Al ...

Khalid’s determination inspires the nation

Khalid’s determination inspires the nation

Khalid Al Ali is a young Emirati man with an enchanting smile and a strong will. The 26-year-old athlete – an international swimmer and a member of the UAE National Swim Team – has a long list of hobbies that include horseback riding, sailing and kayaking. He has also participated in international sports championships in several countries including representing the UAE in kayaking in the Sp...

A difficult journey ends with a smile

A difficult journey ends with a smile

The first smile of Bana Nizar Hassan, a nine-year-old Sudanese girl, after her surgery at Al Jalila Children’s Specialty Hospital, is a moment her father will never forget. Since birth, Bana has suffered from a complete failure of her left kidney and atrophy of her right kidney – a condition that affects one in 1,000 children. Bana spent the first years of her life enduring all kinds of t...