الأبحاث مهمة

سبر أسرار الأمراض العصبية

سبر أسرار الأمراض العصبية

في ظل تزايد عدد السكان في العالم وزيادة متوسط العمر المتوقع، أصبحنا نشهد ارتفاعًا في عدد الحالات التي تُشخّص بالإصابة باضطرابات عصبية، مثل مرض باركنسون. منحت مؤسسة الجليلة للعالم الشهير الدكتور إمداد الحق، من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة منحة بحثية لدراسة تدور حول دور  بروتين يُسمى باركين "Parkin" في التنكسات العصبية والسرطان بعنوان " باركين "Parkin" في السرطان والتنكس العصبي: الدور الحاسم لب...

باحث رائد يسعى لإيجاد علاجات جديدة للسرطان

باحث رائد يسعى لإيجاد علاجات جديدة للسرطان

وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، يعتبر السرطان ثاني مسبب رئيسي للوفاة على مستوى العالم، حيث يتسبب بواحدة من كل 6 وفيات، كما يشخص في كل عام ما يقارب 300,000 طفل بالسرطان، إلا أن ذلك لا يقتل بصيص الأمل الذي ينبعث عن طريق العلاج المناسب الذي يمكّن أكثر من 80٪ من الأطفال المصابين بالسرطان من البقاء على قيد الحياة والتمتع بحياة كاملة وصحية، وهذا هو ما يدفع مؤسسة الجليلة للاستثمار في أبحاث السرطان المبتكرة....

خبير في التوحد يبحث عن طرق علاجية مبتكرة

خبير في التوحد يبحث عن طرق علاجية مبتكرة

يمثل اضطراب طيف التوحد (ASD) مصدر قلق صحي متنامٍ في مختلف أنحاء العالم، وتُقدِّر الإحصائيات أنه يُصيب طفلًا من كل 58 طفلًا على مستوى العالم. وتشير الأبحاث إلى أن المرض يظهر مبكرًا جدًا كخلل في عملية التطور؛ مما يتطلب تشخيصًا مبكرًا وتدخلًا مبكرًا أيضًا. وثمة دراسة لتطوير "نظام مختبري لوصف عمليات الحذف المُمرِضة المتكررة في اضطراب طيف التوحد" يقودها الدكتور محمد الدين، خبير مسببات التوحد واضطراب...

الأبحاث المحلية عن داء السكري تضطلع بدور هام في مكافحة المرض

الأبحاث المحلية عن داء السكري تضطلع بدور هام في مكافحة المرض

على الرغم من ارتفاع أعداد المصابين بداء السكري من النوع الثاني في الإمارات العربية المتحدة حيث يعاني 1 تقريبًا من كل 5 أفراد من هذا المرض؛ إلا أن البيانات الوبائية والمجموعات الفرعية المتعلقة بهذا المرض في دولة الإمارات بشكل عام، والإمارات الشمالية بشكل خاص (الشارقة/عجمان) محدودة للغاية. يقود البروفيسور نبيل سليمان الحاصل على منحة مؤسسة الجليلة للبحث العلمي من جامعة الشارقة دراسة بحثية رائدة تح...

ينظر البحث في وجود روابط بين النوم والاكتئاب

ينظر البحث في وجود روابط بين النوم والاكتئاب

وفقًا لإحصاءات منظمة الصحة العالمية، لا يزال مرض الاكتئاب في ازدياد على المستوى العالمي. والاكتئاب عبارة عن اضطراب نفسي مصحوب بقلة تقدير الذات وفقدان الرغبة والاهتمام وتدني مستوى الطاقة. لسوء الحظ، لا تُثبت طرق العلاج الحالية فعاليتها سوى في 50% من الحالات فقط. وحتى بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يستجيبون للعلاج بشكلٍ جيدٍ، فقد يلزمنا عدة أسابيع أو أشهر لرؤية أي تحسُّن في حالة المريض. ومع الحاجة إلى س...

البحث في آثار تدخين الشيشة على صحة القلب

البحث في آثار تدخين الشيشة على صحة القلب

لا تزال أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية السبب الرئيسي للوفاة والعجز في العالم اليوم. وفقًا لاتحاد القلب العالمي ، يموت 17.5 مليون شخص على مستوى العالم سنويًا بسبب أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية ، وقد حددت الدراسات أنه أحد الأسباب الرئيسية للوفاة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث تُعزى 30٪ من الوفيات إلى هذا المرض.     يقود البروفيسور عبد الرحيم نمار من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تحقيقًا تجريبيًا حو...

أبحاث معمَقة في العلاقة بين السكَري والصيام

أبحاث معمَقة في العلاقة بين السكَري والصيام

تُظهر البيانات أن نسبة الإصابة بمرض السكري في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تصل إلى 1 من كل 5 أشخاص، مما يجعله أحد أكثر التحديات الملحَة التي يواجهها نظام الرعاية الصحية في البلاد حالياً. ويحرص السكان في هذه المنطقة من العالم على الصيام باعتباره ممارسة دينية، وهذا يشمل العديد من المصابين بالسكري الذين يمارسون الصيام طوال شهر رضمان المبارك دون أي آثار سلبية على صحتهم في حين يُعد البعض منهم عرضة للخ...

عالم يتقدم بطلب للحصول على براءة اختراع لعلاج كيميائي جديد

عالم يتقدم بطلب للحصول على براءة اختراع لعلاج كيميائي جديد

تؤكد إحصائيات سرطان الثدي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة على الحاجة إلى إجراء أبحاث محلية نظرًا لكونه أكثر أنواع السرطان التي تصيب النساء شيوعًا مع زيادة معدل حدوثه بشكل مطرد حتى بات يشكل 38% من جميع السرطانات التي تصيب الإناث في البلاد. يقود الدكتور غالب الحسيني الحاصل على منحة بحثية من مؤسسة الجليلة من الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة دراسة رائدة تركز على تحسين طرق العلاج لمرضى سرطان الثدي تقدم من خ...

تطوير الحلول لدعم الصحة النفسية

تطوير الحلول لدعم الصحة النفسية

خلال هذه الأوقات العصيبة، بات العالم يشهد حاجة ملحة وغير مسبوقة إلى دعم الصحة النفسية. وانطلاقًا من دور مؤسسة الجليلة لرائد في دعم الأبحاث في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، نفخر بما تقدمه من دعم للعلماء في التصدي لهذه المسألة إلى جانب غيرها من المجالات الطبية. فقد استخدم البروفيسور ليونتيوس هاجيلونتيديس، الحاصل على منحة بحثية من مؤسسة الجليلة لدى جامعة خليفة، أحدث التقنيات في تطوير أول تطبيق م...

الدكتورة حبيبة، مصدر إلهام للسيدات في مجال العلوم

الدكتورة حبيبة، مصدر إلهام للسيدات في مجال العلوم

حصلت الدكتورة حبيبة الصفار على اثنتين من منح البحوث التي تقدمها مؤسسة الجليلة لتحقق حلم طفولتها بأن تصبح عالمة. فقد كانت منذ نعومة أظفارها محبة للاستطلاع والاكتشاف. وبتشجيع من والديها، عملت الدكتورة حبيبة جاهدة لإشباع طموحاتها العلمية حيث حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في الطب الشرعي والعلوم الطبية كما نجحت بتحقيق حلمها ألا وهو "بناء قدرات الإمارات في مجال بحوث الجينات". تعمل الدكتورة حبيبة اليوم ع...

الارتقاء بصحة وسعادة النساء

الارتقاء بصحة وسعادة النساء

بحسب إحصائيات منظمة الصحة العالمية، يصيب الاكتئاب 350 مليون شخص حول العالم، وهو سبب رئيسي في الإعاقة التي تؤثر على النساء أكثر من الرجال. وفي العالم العربي، يعاني حوالي 17.7 بالمئة من السكان من الاكتئاب. وفي ضوء هذه الإحصائيات المنذرة بالخطر، فإن الصحة العقلية على رأس أولويات الأجندة الوطنية للإمارات العربية المتحدة، ومحور تركيز مهم في البحوث التي تقوم بها مؤسسة الجليلة. ومن بين البحوث التي ...

اكتشاف الحلول الطبية الجديدة للارتقاء بحياة الأفراد

اكتشاف الحلول الطبية الجديدة للارتقاء بحياة الأفراد

في ضوء التقدّم الذي تسعى دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى تحقيقه خلال الخمسين عامًا المقبلة، نبذل قصارى جهدنا مستمدين الإلهام من الخطوات الكبيرة العظيمة التي نقطعها في مجال الابتكار الطبي والنهوض بالعلوم والبحوث. فمن الصعب الآن أن نصدق أننا قبل أقل من قرن، لم نكن نملك علاجات لأمراض مثل السل وشلل الأطفال وبدا من المستحيل تخيل أن تتمكن قارات بأكملها من التصدي للأوبئة بلقاح. فعلى مدى سنوات طويلة، ك...

ملتزمون بالأبحاث متعهدون بالرعاية

ملتزمون بالأبحاث متعهدون بالرعاية

كل الشكر لصاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، على تأسيسه مؤسسة الجليلة، و تشجيعه للابتكار والأبحاث الطبية، و دعمه المستمر،. إدراكًا لدور الأبحاث في فتح بوابة لاكتشاف المعارف الجديدة والنهوض بالإنجازات الطبيّة وتحفيز التنمية الاقتصادية، وتماشيًا مع رؤية صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد، أنشأنا في مقر مؤسسة الجليلة مركز اللأبحاث، مُجهّز بأح...

د. صبا ، رائدة في مجال العلوم

د. صبا ، رائدة في مجال العلوم

يعد سرطان الرئة المنتشر في شتى بقاع العالم أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لوفيات السرطان بين الرجال والنساء، ويحتل المرتبة الثانية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من حيث أكثر الأمراض فتكاً بالأرواح بين مواطني دولة الإمارات. الدكتورة صبا الهيالي، أستاذ مساعد في علم المناعة في جامعة محمد بن راشد للطب والعلوم الصحية، و هي باحثة متميزة تسعى إلى التعرف على الجينات المرتبطة بمرض الربو الحاد وعلاقتها بتطور سرط...

اكتشاف العلاقة بين النوم إنقاص الوزن

اكتشاف العلاقة بين النوم إنقاص الوزن

تشير تقديرات منظمة الصحة العالمية إلى أن أكثر من 4.8 مليون شخص في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة يعانون من السمنة. تشدد مثل هذه الأرقام غير المسبوقة على أهمية تقديم الدعم طويل الأمد للأبحاث العلمية التي تهدف إلى التوصل لاكتشافات بالغة الأهمية في المجالات المتعلقة بمرض السمنة. أخذت الدكتورة تيريزا أرورا من جامعة زايد على عاتقها دراسة هذا المرض المتفشي بالاستفادة من المنحة البحثية التي تلقتها من م...

استكشاف أسرار المرض

استكشاف أسرار المرض

الدكتورة بشائر موسى من جامعة الشارقة كلية العلوم الطبية الأساسية هي باحثة طليعية تقود دراسة بدعم من منحة أولية من مؤسسة الجليلة. وتستقصي الدكتورة بشائر في هذه الدراسة دور FOS و بروتين BECLIN-1 في تحفيز البلعمة الذاتية في الفشل اللاإرادي الناتج عن نقص السكر في الدم (HAAF) لمرضى السكري. ويعد HAAF من المضاعفات الخطيرة لمرض السكري بحيث يرتبط بعدم إدراك وجود نقص للسكر في الدم (انخفاض مستوى الجلوكوز ...

العلماء يدرسون تأثير مادة الكارنوزول على سرطان الثدي

العلماء يدرسون تأثير مادة الكارنوزول على سرطان الثدي

يدرس البروفيسور رابح إيراثني من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، العالم الشهير والحاصل على منحة بحثية من مؤسسة الجليلة، نشاط مادة من البوليفينولات الطبيعية، الكارنوزول، وتأثيرها على سرطان الثدي. يندرج مرض سرطان الثدي ضمن الأسباب الرئيسية للوفيات بين النساء حول العالم. ويُعتبر «سرطان الثدي الثلاثي السلبي» TNBCs أكثر أشكال المرض عدوانيةً وتوغلًا، كما يصعب كثيرًا التنبؤ به وتشخيصه مبكرًا. وللأسف، ل...

دور اﻟﺰﻋﻔﺮان ﰲ ﻋﻼج اﻟﺴﺮﻃﺎن

دور اﻟﺰﻋﻔﺮان ﰲ ﻋﻼج اﻟﺴﺮﻃﺎن

وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، يعد السرطان ثاني أسباب الوفاة على مستوى العالم في وقت تواصل فيه الأبحاث في جميع أنحاء العالم البحث عن علاج له. وفي هذا الصدد، عمل البروفسور عمرو أمين من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والحاصل على المنحة البحثية من مؤسسة الجليلة على دراسة علمية منذ عام 2011 خلص فيها إلى تمتع الزعفران بخصائص مضادة لسرطان الكبد تعمل على وقف انقسام الخلايا وتعزيز الموت الخلوي، علمًا أن ال...

أبحاث تتصدى لأخطر مرض في العالم

أبحاث تتصدى لأخطر مرض في العالم

تعد أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية تبعًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية المسبب الأول للوفاة على مستوى العالم، حيث تقدر نسبة الوفيات جراء هذه الأمراض في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بـ30%. ومع أن إدخال التحسينات على نمط الحياة يسهم في إنجاح العلاج، إلا أنه يجب إجراء الكثير من الأبحاث لإيجاد خيارات علاجية أفضل. الدكتورة ماريا باياس من جامعة نيويورك أبوظبي، هي إحدى متلقيات منحة مؤسسة الجليلة، وتدرس إمكانية ...

Research Matters

Discovering the unknown in neurological disorders

Discovering the unknown in neurological disorders

With an increasing global population and greater life expectancy, the diagnosis of neurological disorders, like Parkinson's disease is on the rise. Al Jalila Foundation awarded a research grant to renowned scientist Dr M Emdadul Haque from UAE University to study ‘Parkin in cancer and neurodegeneration: critical role of parkin as E3 ubiquitin ligase and redox molecule’. Parkin/PINK1 insu...

Leading scientist investigates novel cancer treatments

Leading scientist investigates novel cancer treatments

According to the World Health Organization, cancer is the second leading cause of death globally with about 1 in 6 deaths due to cancer. Each year, approximately 300,000 children alone are diagnosed with cancer. However, there is hope, as with access to quality treatment, more than 80% of children with cancer can survive, living full and healthy lives. It is this that drives Al Jalila Foundation t...

Autism expert seeks innovative treatment methods

Autism expert seeks innovative treatment methods

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a growing health concern around the world and is estimated that it impacts 1 in every 58 children globally. Research indicates that the disease manifests very early in development which requires early diagnosis and intervention. Dr Mohammed Uddin from Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences, an expert in the etiology of autism and neurode...

Local diabetes research is vital to fight the disease

Local diabetes research is vital to fight the disease

Despite the high prevalence of type 2 diabetes in the UAE, approximately 1 in 5 of the population suffers from the disease, epidemiological data about diabetes incidence and subgroups in the UAE in general, and particularly the Northern Emirates (Sharjah/Ajman), is very limited. Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient Professor Nabil Sulaiman from University of Sharjah is leading a pionee...

Research investigates links between sleep and depression

Research investigates links between sleep and depression

According to the World Health Organization depression, a mental disorder accompanied by low self-esteem, loss of interest and low energy, continues to be on the rise globally. Unfortunately, current treatment methods are only effective on 50% of patients and even for those who do respond well it can take weeks or months to see any improvement. With new therapeutic avenues needed, Al Jalila F...

Researching the effects water-pipe smoke on heart health

Researching the effects water-pipe smoke on heart health

Cardiovascular disease continues to be the leading cause of death and disability in the world today. According to the World Heart Federation 17.5 million people globally die every year from cardiovascular disease and studies have identified it is a one of the primary reasons of death in the UAE, with 30% of fatalities attributed to the disease. Professor Abderrahim Nemmar from United Arab Emira...

Researchers delve into diabetes and fasting

Researchers delve into diabetes and fasting

Data shows that 1 in 5 people in the UAE has diabetes making it one of the most pressing healthcare challenges today. Fasting as part of religious practice is keenly observed in the region and many people with diabetes fast throughout Ramadan with no negative impact on their health while some are considered high risk. Al Jalila Foundation grant recipients, Dr Fatheya Alawadi and Dr Mohammed Has...

Scientist files patent for novel chemotherapy treatment

Scientist files patent for novel chemotherapy treatment

UAE breast cancer statistics emphasise the need for local research as it is the most common cancer affecting women with incidences steadily increasing and constituting 38% of all female cancers in the country. Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, Dr Ghaleb Husseini from American University of Sharjah, lead a ground-breaking study focused on improving treatment methods for breast cance...

Developing solutions to support mental health

Developing solutions to support mental health

During these uncertain times, mental health support has never been more vital and Al Jalila Foundation is proud to be at the forefront of pioneering research in the UAE by supporting scientists addressing the issue. Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, Professor Leontios Hadjileontiadis from Khalifa University, used cutting-edge technology to develop a first-of-its-kind mobile app ...

An inspiring role model for women in science

An inspiring role model for women in science

Dr Habiba Alsafar, a two-time Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, was a curious youngster who dreamed of becoming a scientist. Encouraged by her parents, she pursued her scientific aspirations gaining her PhD in Forensics and Medical Sciences and fulfilled her dream to ‘build the UAE’s capability in genetic research’. Today, Dr Habiba is a faculty member at Khalifa University w...

Improving women’s health and happiness

Improving women’s health and happiness

According to World Health Organization depression affects 350 million people worldwide and is a leading cause of disability, affecting more women than men. In the Arab world, it is estimated that 17.7 percent of the population suffers from depression. With these alarming statistics, mental health is a top priority on the UAE National Agenda and a focus for Al Jalila Foundation research. One ...

Unlocking Medical Solutions, Transforming Lives

Unlocking Medical Solutions, Transforming Lives

As the UAE looks toward the next 50‭ ‬years we are inspired by the great strides we are taking in medical innovation and the advancement of science‭. ‬It is hard to believe that less than a century ago‭, ‬we did not have cures for diseases like tuberculosis and‭ ‬polio‭. ‬It seemed impossible to imagine that entire continents could eradicate epidemics with a vaccine‭. ‬Over...

Dedicated to Research, Committed to Care

Dedicated to Research, Committed to Care

We are immensely grateful to our Founder, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, for championing innovation and research, and for establishing Al Jalila Foundation. Research provides a gateway to discovering new knowledge, advancing medical breakthroughs, and propelling economic development. In line with His Highness...

Dr Saba, a leading woman in science

Dr Saba, a leading woman in science

Worldwide, lung cancer is a leading cause of cancer mortality in both men and women and in the UAE it is ranked the second deadliest disease among UAE nationals. Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, Dr Saba Al Heialy, Assistant Professor of Immunology at Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences, is a brilliant researcher who aims to identify genes involved in sev...

Uncovering the sleep and weight loss connection

Uncovering the sleep and weight loss connection

According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), more than 4.8 million people in the UAE suffer from obesity. These numbers underscore the need for long-term funding into scientific research to develop discoveries in the field of obesity. Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, Dr Teresa Arora from Zayed University, is conducting a pilot study to assess the feasibility of sleep improvem...

Exploring the mysteries of disease

Exploring the mysteries of disease

Dr Bashair Mussa from University of Sharjah (College of Medicine) is a cutting-edge researcher leading a study, with the support of Al Jalila Foundation seed grant, investigating the role of FOS and BECLIN1-inducing autophagy in pathogenesis of hypoglycemia-associated autonomic failure (HAAF) in diabetes. HAAF is a serious complication of diabetes which is associated with unawareness of hypogly...

Scientist studies the effect of carnosol on breast cancer

Scientist studies the effect of carnosol on breast cancer

Celebrated scientist and Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, Professor Rabah Iratni from United Arab Emirates University, is studying a naturally occurring polyphenol, carnosol, and its effect on breast cancer. Breast cancer ranks as the leading cause of cancer death in women worldwide with triple-negative breast cancers (TNBCs) being the most aggressive and invasive form with the wo...

Saffron key in cancer treatment

Saffron key in cancer treatment

According to the World Health Organization cancer is the second leading cause of death globally and researches around the world continue to search for a cure. Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient, Professor Amr Amin from United Arab Emirates University, has been conducting a study since 2011 and found saffron to have anti-liver cancer properties working both to stop cell division and prom...

Research tackles world's greatest disease

Research tackles world's greatest disease

According to the World Health Organisation, cardiovascular diseases are the number one cause of death globally and it is estimated that 30% of fatalities in the UAE are attributed to cardiovascular disease. While improvements in lifestyle can support successful treatment there is much research to be done to provide better treatment options. Dr Maria Baias, Al Jalila Foundation grant recipient f...