قصص الأمل

بريتفيك .. أول مريض في الإمارات يخضع لعملية زراعة كلى للأطفال من متبرع حي

في يونيو من عام 2020، أثّرت قصة الفتى بريتفيك، والذي عانى من مرض كلوي، في قلوب الأمة بأسرها، حينما قرر صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم أن يدعم أسرة الفتى خلال هذه الفترة العصيبة. وكان بريتفيك ولد بكليتين صغيرتين تعملان بشكل جزئي، وأصيب في عام 2020، بفشل كلوي، وأصبح في حاجة ماسة للعلاج بالبدائل الكلوية بشكل عاجل.

ويعتبر بريتفيك فتى يتمتع بمواهب استثنائية؛ حيث انضم رسميًا كباحث منتسب في مركز المفاهيم الأساسية في العلوم، وهو مؤلف مشارك لكتاب ناسا التمهيدي في علم الأحياء الفلكي، وتخرج كباحث عالمي في العلوم، لكن حالته الطبية كانت تؤثر بشكل سلبي على مسيرته العلمية والأكاديمية والبحثية.

وبعد التأكد من مطابقة الأنسجة لوالد بريتفيك، بهسكار سينهاد، وجاهزية كليته للتبرع، موّلت مؤسسة الجليلة عملية الزراعة غير المسبوقة في الدولة، والتي أجراها فريق أطباء من مستشفى الجليلة التخصصي للأطفال ومن جامعة محمد بن راشد للطب والعلوم الصحية ومن ميديكلينيك الشرق الأوسط.، لتكون أول عملية زراعة كلية لطفل من متبرع حي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

ومن المتوقع أن تؤدي هذه العملية التي أنقذت حياة بريتفيك إلى الارتقاء بمستوى حياته في السنوات القادمة.

وقال الدكتور عبدالكريم العلماء، الرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة الجليلة، “من خلال برنامج (عاون)، نساعد الآباء على منح أطفالهم رعاية طبية تعد الأفضل من بين المؤسسات الطبية ذات المستوى العالمي، ما يمنحهم أملًا متجددًا لمستقبل أطفالهم. وكان من دواعي اعتزازنا وفخرنا، أن نكون جزءًا من قصة بريتفيك الملهمة، ونتمنى له الشفاء العاجل.”

وقال بريتفيك، الذي مُنح لقب سفير الإمارات للتبرع بالأعضاء، “كنت محظوظًا لأن والدي كان بجانبي في هذه المحنة وتبرع بكليته لمساعدتي، إلا أن هناك الكثير من الأطفال والبالغين الذين يحتاجون إلى عمليات زراعة للبقاء على قيد الحياة، وأتعهد بالعمل من أجل زيادة الوعي حول الحاجة الماسة للتبرع بالأعضاء لإنقاذ حياة المرضى مثلي.”

يمكنكم مشاهدة بريتفيك وهو يصف تجربته بنفسه عبر هذا الرابط

بريتفيك .. أول مريض في الإمارات يخضع لعملية زراعة كلى للأطفال من متبرع حي

Stories of Hope

Pritvik is the UAE’s first live donor transplant pediatric patient

In June 2020, the story of young kidney patient Pritvik touched the hearts of the nation as His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum offered to support the family through this difficult time. Pritvik was born with small, partially functioning kidneys and in early 2020 suffered kidney failure and required immediate renal replacement therapy.

Pritvik is an exceptionally talented young boy; he is as an official affiliated researcher at Beyond Center, a published co-author on NASA’s Primer on Astrobiology and a World Science Scholar. However, his medical condition was taking a heavy toll on his school and research.

Pritvik’s father, Bhaskar Sinhadc, was identified as a successful donor match. The groundbreaking transplant was funded by Al Jalila Foundation and successfully carried out by a team of physicians from Al Jalila Children’s Specialty Hospital, Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences (MBRU) and Mediclinic Middle East, marking the UAE’s first pediatric kidney transplant from a live donor.

The operation, which has saved Pritvik’s life, is also expected to improve the quality of his life in the years ahead.

Dr Abdulkareem Sultan Al Olama, CEO, Al Jalila Foundation, said: “Through our A’awen program we are helping parents give their children the opportunity to undergo the latest medical procedures at world-class medical institutions, offering them renewed hope for their child’s future. It has been a privilege to be part of Pritvik’s inspirational story and we wish him a speedy recovery.”

Pritvik, who was named a UAE Ambassador of Organ Donation, said: “I have been lucky to have my father as my donor. However, there are many who need transplants to survive. I pledge to raise awareness on the crucial need for organ donation in saving lives of patients like me, who would otherwise not make it without a transplant.”

Watch Pritvik describe his experience in his own words here.

Pritvik is the UAE’s first live donor transplant pediatric patient