قصص الأمل

حياة بسمه، بين واقع صعب ورعاية تُجدد الأمل

لم تعرف بسمه الطفلة الموهوبة ذات الأربع أعوام أن بانتظارها رحلة صعبة ومشاكل صحية خطيرة جعلتها غير قادرة على المشي أو اللعب مثل الأطفال الآخرين. بعد خضوعها للفحوصات، تبيّن أن بسمه تعاني من مرض النسيج الضّام وهو مرض مناعي ذاتي نادر، بالإضافة إلى التهاب الجلد والعضلات عند الأطفال والذي يُصاب به من 1 إلى 4 أطفال فقط من كل مليون طفل. هذا ويندرج هذا مرض ضمن الأمراض الخطيرة التي يجب علاجها بسرعة وإلا فقد تؤدي إلى إعاقة وتزيد احتمالية الوفاة بشكل كبير. يجب أن يخضع مرضى النسيج الضّام لرعاية طبية مكثّفة وإشراف دقيق حتى تستقر حالتهم وتبدأ مرحلة التعافي.

بمحض الصدفة وبالإضافة إلى هذا المرض النادر، تبيّن أن بسمة تعاني من السكري من النوع الأول الذي تسبب أيضًا في حدوث مضاعفات وتطلب العلاج والرعاية الحيوية. بادر الفريق الطبي في مستشفى الجليلة التخصصي للأطفال بتطوير خطة علاجية واسعة النطاق لبسمه، فيما قدمت مؤسسة الجليلة الدعم المالي الذي تحتاجه العائلة لإنقاذ حياة ابنتها.

عبّرت عائلة بسمه عن امتنانها الشديد بالقول: “مهما شكرنا مؤسسة الجليلة، لن نوفيها حقها لما قدّمته من دعم ومساعدة لابنتنا الغالية. من كان يتخيّل أن تعود إلى البيت راكضة بعد أن دخلت المستشفى غير قادرة على الوقوف”

تستجيب بسمه للعلاج بشكل جيّد وهي طفلة سعيدة تعيش حياتها بلا هموم.

حياة بسمه، بين واقع صعب ورعاية تُجدد الأمل

Stories of Hope

Bismah’s life is powered by hope

At 4-years-old Bismah, a highly talented child, began to develop serious health problems and deteriorated to the point that she could no longer walk or play like other children. After admission to the hospital she was diagnosed with a very rare autoimmune connective tissue disease, juvenile dermatomyositis, in which only 1 to 4 cases occur per million children. As a connective tissue disease, if left untreated it can cause significant disability and high-risk mortality. Patients must undergo rigorous medical care under close supervision to stabalise their condition and support their recovery.

Coincidently, in addition to this rare disease she was also diagnosed with type 1 diabetes mellitus which too had developed complications and required vital treatment and care. The medical team at Al Jalila Children’s Specialty Hospital put together an extensive treatment plan for Bismah and Al Jalila Foundation provided the financial support the family needed to save their daughter’s life.

The family has expressed their gratitude: “We cannot say thank you enough for the support Al Jalila Foundation has been to our daughter. She has transformed from when she arrived at the hospital unable to stand and she then came back home running.”

Bismah is responding to the treatment well and is a happy care-free child.

Bismah’s life is powered by hope