قصص الأمل

خبير في التوحد يبحث عن طرق علاجية مبتكرة

يمثل اضطراب طيف التوحد (ASD) مصدر قلق صحي متنامٍ في مختلف أنحاء العالم، وتُقدِّر الإحصائيات أنه يُصيب طفلًا من كل 58 طفلًا على مستوى العالم. وتشير الأبحاث إلى أن المرض يظهر مبكرًا جدًا كخلل في عملية التطور؛ مما يتطلب تشخيصًا مبكرًا وتدخلًا مبكرًا أيضًا.

وثمة دراسة لتطوير “نظام مختبري لوصف عمليات الحذف المُمرِضة المتكررة في اضطراب طيف التوحد” يقودها الدكتور محمد الدين، خبير مسببات التوحد واضطراب النمو العصبي الوراثي، بجامعة محمد بن راشد للطب والعلوم الصحية.

ويحمل كل طفل مصاب بالتوحد سمة جينية مختلفة؛ ولذلك، من الضروري استهداف نهج جزيئي مُخصَّص. ويُعد هذا البحث مهمًا للغاية لتطبيق مركز تفسيري لجينوم التوحد وأيضًا لتوجيه العلاجات المُخصَّصة. ويأمل الدكتور محمد الدين أن تكون هذه الدراسة بمثابة خطوة نحو تقدم مشروعات تسلسل الجينوم، وأن توفر إمكانية لتفسير الظواهر السريرية المتعلقة بالجينات المشوهة.

والآن يمتلك الفريق قائمة شاملة للجينات المرتبطة بالتوحد، كما نجح الفريق في إكمال إجراء تجارب تعديل الجينات. ونظرًا لما لهذه الأعمال من أهمية بالغة، فقد مولت مؤسسة الجليلة هذه البحوث؛ لمواصلة عملية إجراء تجارب توصيف متعددة على خطوط الخلايا باستخدام التقنية الثورية كرسبر/ case9 والتي من الممكن أن يستفيد منها العلماء الآخرون.

لمعرفة المزيد حول هذا الموضوع وحول غيره من أبحاث مؤسسة الجليلة، يرجى النقر هنا.

خبير في التوحد يبحث عن طرق علاجية مبتكرة

Stories of Hope

Autism expert seeks innovative treatment methods

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a growing health concern around the world and is estimated that it impacts 1 in every 58 children globally. Research indicates that the disease manifests very early in development which requires early diagnosis and intervention.

Dr Mohammed Uddin from Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine and Health Sciences, an expert in the etiology of autism and neurodevelopmental disorder genetics, is leading a study to develop ‘An in vitro system to characterise recurrent pathogenic deletions in autism spectrum disorder’.

Each child impacted by autism carries a different genetic signature; therefore, a targeted personalised molecular approach is necessary. This research is immensely important to implement a translational core for autism genome and to guide personalised therapeutics. Dr Uddin hopes this study will be a step forward for genome sequencing projects and will enable the translation of clinical relevance of the mutated genes.

The team now have a comprehensive list of genes that are associated with ASD and have successfully completed gene editing experiments. Due to the relevant and important nature of the work, Al Jalila Foundation has funded this research to continue the process of conducting multiple characterisation experiments on the knockout CRISPR/Cas9 cell lines that can then be used by other scientists in the country.

To learn more about this and other Al Jalila Foundation research please click here.

Autism expert seeks innovative treatment methods