تأثيرنا

ملخص مسيرتنا لعام 2019

HH-Sheikh-Mohammedجاء يوم زايد للعمل الإنساني ليحمل معه نفحات من روح الخير و العطاء التي أرساها الأب المؤسس الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان خلال مسيرته الحافلة بالعطاء والعمل الإنساني الأعظم على مستوى العالم. لقد قدم الشيخ زايد مثالًا يحتذى بسخائه وعطائه وسعيه الدائم نحو تحسين نوعية حياة المجتمع، واليوم نفخر بهذه الرؤية التي أتت ثمارها ومنحت كل شخص يعيش في دولة الإمارات مستوى حياة متميز.

روح العطاء تحمل معنى خاص في شهر رمضان المبارك، ونفتخر بالإنجازات الإنسانية لدولة الإمارات التي تنشر الأمل في العالم. وربما جاء شهر رمضان هذا العام في ظل أوضاع مختلفة غر مسبوقة، إلا إن ذلك لا يغير من قيمه وما يمدنا به من سكينة وشحذ الهمم لفعل الخير من شيء. ولقد شهدنا بالفعل العديد من أعمال الخير وتعاضد المجتمع لمؤازرة من يعملون في الخطوط الأمامية للتصدي لجائحة كوفيد-19 ومساعدة أولئك الذين لحقتهم أضرار مادية. وتذكّرنا هذه الأزمة الصحية العالمية غير المسبوقة بأن الإنسانية لا تعرف الحدود وأن وحدتنا هي المنارة التي تنير لنا الدرب وترشدنا نحو غدٍ أقوى.

وستبقى هذه الرؤية مصدر إلهامنا إذ سنواصل العمل بموجب الأفكار والقيم التي أرساها الشيخ زايد والتي تقوم على الحكمة والاحترام والاستدامة والتنمية البشرية وهي ما سيدفعنا للاستمرار والسعي نحو إحداث فرق ملموس في حياة الأفراد.بينما نتأمل عام مضى نحن في مؤسسة الجليلة نتعهد بالتزامنا المستمر برؤية مؤسسنا ،صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي بهدف ترسيخ مكانة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في صدارة مجال الابتكار الطبي. تستند رسالة مؤسسة الجليلة على ثلاث ركائز أساسية: العلاج والتعليم والبحث. أما جوهر عملنا فقد كان ولا يزال متمحورًا حول الارتقاء بحياة الناس سواء من خلال دعم علاج مريض يأمل بالشفاء أو مساندة طالب طموح أو عالم ذو رؤية ريادية. في كل خطوة نخطوها نستشعر بصيص أمل جديد يُنير لنا الدرب ويُبشر بمستقبل مُشرق. تخلّل عام 2019 مجموعة من المبادرات والإنجازات التي حققتها مؤسسة الجليلة؛ حيث استثمرت 25 مليون درهم إماراتي في عدد من برامج الرعاية الصحية الرامية إلى مساعدة الأفراد والارتقاء بحياتهم.

وإذ نرى ما تشهده البشرية اليوم من حاجة ملحة وغير مسبوقة لعلاج منقذ للأرواح وإنجازات طبية متطورة تمكنه من القضاء على هذه الجائحة وإنقاذ حياة الملايين من البشر، لا يسعنا في مؤسسة الجليلة إلّا أن نؤكد عزمنا لمساندة الجهود التي تبذلها الدولة في حماية حياة البشر.

لا يمكننا أن ننسى أولئك الأكثر تأثراً في المجتمع والذين ما زالوا بحاجة إلى علاج طبي للأمراض التي تهدد حياتهم.

حتى في ظل هذه الأوقات الاستثنائيّة، يملأنا شعور بالتفاؤل والإيجابية بأن مستقبل المرضى سيكون أفضل نظرًا للتطورات التي شهدها قطاع الرعاية الصحية مؤخرًا. ويزداد هذا الشعور قوة ونزداد نحن حماسًا لمستقبل مشرق بفضل دعم ومساندة الجهات المانحة. تسهم مبادرات مؤسسة الجليلة في مجال تمويل الأبحاث الطبية الهامة بتمكين الأطباء من الإطلاع على خيارات علاجية جديدة ومبتكرة وبالتالي فتح أبواب الأمل للمرضى.

و اذ نحتفل اليوم بمناسبة غالية على قلب ووجدان كل من يعيش على أرض دولة الإمارات، إمارات الخير والسعادة والتسامح والعطاء، فنحن فخورون بما حققناه بكرم ودعم شركائنا الكرام – أنتم.

لا يزال التزامنا بدعم البحث العلمي قائمًا لمواصلة دعم الباحثين المتميزين في مجالات طبية رائدة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مثل الدراسات المتعلقة بمرض السرطان وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والسكري والسمنة والصحة النفسية. واستجابة لانتشار وباء فيروس كورونا العالمي الجديد، قمنا بتوسيع مشاريعنا البحثية لتشمل كوفيد-19 وأمراض فيروسية أخرى. إننا فخورون بالإنجاز الذي حققناه. فقد قدمنا حوالي 100 منحة بحثية منذ عام 2014، واستثمرنا 25 مليون درهم إماراتي لتمكين الباحثين من كسر الحواجز وسبر أغوار العلوم والتوصّل إلى اكتشافات علمية يمكن ترجمتها لأدوات فعالة من شأنها تحسين العلاجات وإنقاذ حياة المرضى.كما ساهم فريق برامج الأبحاث في إصدار 245 مقالًا منشورًا في عددٍ من المجلات العلمية الدولية.

لطالما آمن الشيخ زايد بأن «التعليم مثل الفانوس الذي ينوّر طريقنا في الأزقّة المظلمة». واسترشادًا بهذا الفكر الثاقب، قمنا بتقديم 20 منحة دراسية لطلبة إماراتيين متميزين بهدف رفد قطاع الرعاية الصحية الإماراتي بكوادر وكفاءات عالية لخدمة أجيال المستقبل. كما احتفل برنامج تآلف التدريبي بتخريج 297 ولي أمر ومعلم ممن اكتسبوا القدرات والمهارات اللازمة التي تمكنهم من مساعدة المئات من الأطفال أصحاب الهمم وإنارة دربهم وتسليحهم بالعزيمة والإصرار. هذا البرنامج الذي يعد الأول من نوعه في مجال تمكين الأطفال لاكتشاف قدراتهم الكامنة وتعزيز أواصر التعاون والمشاركة بين أفراد المجتمع.

لا يمكننا الحديث عن إنجازاتنا في مجال الرعاية الصحية دون أن نذكر الأشخاص الذين تغيّرت حياتهم بفضل جودة الخدمات الصحية المقدمة. كما تلقّى أكثر من 235 مريض محتاج في دولة الإمارات بمن فيهم 189 طفلًا خدمات علاجية أنقذت حياتهم وفتحت لهم أفقًا جديدًا للمستقبل. وعلى الصعيد الدولي، قمنا بتقديم 1.07 مليون لقاح ضد مرضالتيتانوس كجزء من مشاركتنا في حملة عالمية لحماية حياة الأمهات والأطفال في الدول النامية.

Dr Abdulkareem Sultan Al Olama
لا يمرّ يوم دون أن نشعر بالحافز والإلهام من قيادة صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم الذي يكرّس وقته وجهده لخدمة الآخرين ولا يتوان أبدًا عن التزامه نحو أمتنا العظيمة ومواطنينا الأكارم.

وبصفتنا عضو في مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية التي تهدف إلى الارتقاء بواقع العالم العربي من خلال العمل الإنساني والتنموي والمجتمعي، تفخر مؤسسة الجليلة باضطلاعها بدور هام في وضع الإنسانية على قمة الأولويات. ومنذ إنشائها، برهنت المؤسسة على أنها أهل لهذا الدور إذ قدمت يد المساعدة لما يقرب من 6 مليون مستفيد محليًا ودوليًا ودعمت مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية الرامية إلى الارتقاء بحياة الإنسان.

سنخلّد ذكرى القائد المغفور له الشيخ زايد ونمجّد أثره وإرثه، عامٌ بعد عام، نُلهم فيه بعضنا البعض لجعل العالم مكانًا أفضل ولنترك بصمة نفخر بها.

أرجو أن تواصلوا متابعة أخبارنا لعلّكم تجدون الإلهام والطاقة الإيجابية من قصص نجاحنا التي تسرد نماذج رائعة عن الشجاعة والعزيمة والابتكار والتي نفخر بكوننا جزء منها.

اسمحوا لي ولفريقي أن نتقدم لكم بالشكر الجزيل على دعمكم المتواصل. ولعل مثل القصص، تمدنا بالأمل على تجاوز هذه الأوقات العصيبة وتبشرنا بغد أقوى وأكثر إشراقًا.

ابقوا بأمان.

د. عبد الكريم سلطان العلماء
الرئيس التنفيذي
عضو مجلس الإدارة
مؤسسة الجليلة

Our Impact

2019 Year in Review

HH-Sheikh-Mohammed On the occasion of Zayed Humanitarian Day, we celebrate the philanthropic spirit of the UAE’s Founding Father, Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, who as one of the world’s greatest humanitarians extended his generosity and support improving the quality of life enjoyed by all people in the Emirates today.

Ramadan is a wonderful time of the year where the spirit of giving shines bright and we are proud of the UAE’s humanitarian achievements spreading hope to the world. Whilst this Ramadan may be very different, the values remain the same. We have already seen so many acts of kindness as the community rallies together to help people at the frontlines fighting the COVID-19 pandemic and those financially impacted by it. The unprecedented global health crisis has reminded us that humanity has no bounds and unity will be our guiding light towards a stronger tomorrow.

Through our work we pay tribute to Sheikh Zayed and his legacy whose values of wisdom, respect, sustainability and human development push us ever further to make a difference to the lives of people.

As we reflect on a remarkable 2019 we, at Al Jalila Foundation, pledge our continued commitment to the vision of our Founder, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai, to position the UAE at the forefront of medical innovation. Al Jalila Foundation is underpinned by three pillars: treatment, education and research and everything we do is to improve lives be it through supporting a hopeful patient, an aspiring student or a pioneering scientist. Each step we take brings with it a new sense of hope lighting the path for a brighter tomorrow. 2019 saw Al Jalila Foundation invest AED 25 million in a number of healthcare programs to transform lives.

There has never been a greater need for life-saving treatment and medical breakthroughs that could end this pandemic and save millions of lives; and, Al Jalila Foundation remains steadfast in supporting the government’s efforts to protect human life.

We can not forget those most vulnerable in society who continue to need medical treatment for pre-existing life-threatening illnesses.

Even during these very uncertain times, we are optimistic that the future is brighter for patients because of the advances in the healthcare industry and we are encouraged by the support we receive from our donor community. By funding life-changing research, we give doctors the power to shed light onto new and better treatment options, and ultimately give hope to patients.

As we commemorate Sheikh Zayed and a special day dedicated to humanity, we are proud of what we have achieved with the generosity and support of our valued partners – you.

Our commitment to medical research is steadfast and we continue to support brilliant researchers in the UAE leading studies in the areas of cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, obesity and mental health. In response to the novel Coronavirus global pandemic, we have expanded our research portfolio to include COVID-19 and other viral diseases. We are proud that as a young foundation we have awarded almost 100 research grants since 2014, investing AED 25 million to empower researchers to push the boundaries of science in their quest for medical discoveries that can be translated into improved treatment and therapies to save patients’ lives. Our research community has contributed to publications in 245 international journals.

Sheikh Zayed believed “Education is like a lantern which lights your way in a dark alley.” and honouring this value we awarded 20 scholarships to outstanding Emirati students fortifying the UAE’s medical landscape for generations to come. Our Ta’alouf training program also saw the graduation of 297 parents and teachers brightening the lives of hundreds of children of determination and their families. The first of its kind flagship program has been instrumental in empowering children to reach their full potential and has brought communities closer together.

Our healthcare achievements cannot be discussed without mentioning the people whose precious lives have been forever changed thanks to quality medical care. In the UAE, more than 235 patients in need, including 189 young children, were able to receive lifesaving treatment giving them a new lease of life and renewed hope for the future. Internationally, we have provided 1.07 million tetanus vaccines as part of global campaign to protect the lives of mothers and babies in underdeveloped countries.

Dr Abdulkareem Sultan Al Olama
Every day we are inspired by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed’s leadership, his dedication to be of service to others and his unwavering commitment to our great nation and its citizens.

As a member of Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives, which aims to improve the Arab world through humanitarian, developmental and community work, Al Jalila Foundation is proud to play a role in ‘putting humanity first’ and since inception has provided aid to almost 6 million beneficiaries, locally and internationally, supporting MBRGI in its mission to improve human life.

May Sheikh Zayed’s legacy continue to inspire each one of us to make the world a better place leaving a legacy that we can all be proud of.

I hope that you will continue to follow our news and find inspiration from the stories of courage, determination and innovation that we, together, have been privileged to be part of.

My team and I extend our heartfelt gratitude for your continued support. Despite these challenging times we remain hopeful that this shall pass and a brighter, stronger tomorrow awaits us.

Stay safe and stay healthy.

Dr Abdulkareem Sultan Al Olama
Chief Executive Officer
Member of the Board of Directors
Al Jalila Foundation