قصص الأمل

الأبحاث المحلية عن داء السكري تضطلع بدور هام في مكافحة المرض

على الرغم من ارتفاع أعداد المصابين بداء السكري من النوع الثاني في الإمارات العربية المتحدة حيث يعاني 1 تقريبًا من كل 5 أفراد من هذا المرض؛ إلا أن البيانات الوبائية والمجموعات الفرعية المتعلقة بهذا المرض في دولة الإمارات بشكل عام، والإمارات الشمالية بشكل خاص (الشارقة/عجمان) محدودة للغاية.

يقود البروفيسور نبيل سليمان الحاصل على منحة مؤسسة الجليلة للبحث العلمي من جامعة الشارقة دراسة بحثية رائدة تحت عنوان “مصابو السكري الجدد كليًا في الشارقة وعجمان: دراسة وبائية ووراثية للطب الفردي (المرحلة الثانية) تهدف إلى التوصّل إلى حلول وإجابات.

لم يتم حتى الآن التحقيق في البيانات السريرية مثل استجابة المجموعات الفرعية من مصابي مرض السكري لمختلف أنماط العلاج وانتشار مضاعفات السكري في هذه المجموعات الفرعية.

تهدف هذه الدراسة إلى إشراك الأفراد الذين تم تشخيصهم حديثًا بالإصابة بمرض السكري والذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 13 و65 عامًا في الشارقة وعجمان وذلك لغايات جمع البيانات الأساسية والسريرية والوراثية والمناعية وتحسين معدلات التصنيف التشخيصي وتطوير العلاج المتخصص لكل حالة على حدة.

تُجسد هذه الدراسة الرائدة الخطوة الأولى نحو الطب الدقيق في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وبالاعتماد على نتائجها، ستسهم الدراسة في تحسين مستوى القدرات التشخيصية والرعاية المتخصصة لمرضى السكري وبتكلفة أقل.

تحرص مؤسسة الجليلة على الاستثمار في مثل هذه الدراسات بهدف توفير مستقبل مُشرق وأكثر أمانًا لمرضى السكري.

لقراءة المزيد حول هذا الموضوع وغيره من الأبحاث، اضغط هنا.

الأبحاث المحلية عن داء السكري تضطلع بدور هام في مكافحة المرض

Stories of Hope

Local diabetes research is vital to fight the disease

Despite the high prevalence of type 2 diabetes in the UAE, approximately 1 in 5 of the population suffers from the disease, epidemiological data about diabetes incidence and subgroups in the UAE in general, and particularly the Northern Emirates (Sharjah/Ajman), is very limited.

Al Jalila Foundation research grant recipient Professor Nabil Sulaiman from University of Sharjah is leading a pioneering local research study ‘All new diabetics in Sharjah & Ajman [ANDISA]: An epidemiological and genetic study toward individualized medicine (phase II)’ to find answers.

Clinical data such as the response of diabetes subgroups to different modes of treatment and the prevalence of diabetes complications in these subgroups have not been investigated yet.

This study aims to enroll new diabetic patients aged 13 to 65 years in Sharjah and Ajman to collect basic, clinical, genetic and immunological data from a newly diagnosed population of diabetics to improve diagnostic categorisation rates and develop personalised treatment.

This groundbreaking study represents the first step towards precision medicine in diabetes in the UAE. Through the findings it will provide better diagnosis and better personalised care for diabetic patients at a lower cost.

It is through investing in studies like this, Al Jalila Foundation aims to create a brighter future for diabetic patients.

To read more about this and other research click here.

Local diabetes research is vital to fight the disease