تأثيرنا

ملخص مسيرتنا لعام 2018

HH-Sheikh-Mohammed
بينما نتأمل عام مضى – «عام زايد» الملهم – ونستقبل العام الجديد بكل ما يحمله من أمنيات متجددة وأحلام وطموحات، ارتأينا في مؤسسة الجليلة استهلال هذه الحقبة بتجديد عهدنا والتزامنا برؤية مؤسسنا صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي بهدف ترسيخ مكانة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في صدارة مجال الابتكار الطبي. تستند رسالة مؤسسة الجليلة على ثلاث ركائز أساسية: العلاج والتعليم والبحث. أما جوهر عملنا فقد كان ولا يزال متمحورًا حول الارتقاء بحياة الناس سواء من خلال دعم مريض يأمل الشفاء أو مساندة طالب طموح أو عالم ذي رؤية ريادية. في كل خطوة نخطوها نستشعر بصيص أمل جديد يُنير لنا الدرب ويُبشر بمستقبل مُشرق. تخلّل العام 2018 مجموعة من المبادرات والإنجازات التي حققتها مؤسسة الجليلة؛ حيث استثمرت 18 مليون درهم إماراتي في عدد من برامج الرعاية الصحية الرامية إلى مساعدة الناس والارتقاء بحياتهم.

جاء عام زايد ليحمل معه نفحات من روح الخير والعمل الإنساني التي أرساها الأب المؤسس الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان خلال مسيرته الحافلة بالعطاء والعمل الإنساني الأعظم على مستوى العالم. لقد قدم الشيخ زايد مثالًا يحتذى بسخائه وعطائه وسعيه الدائم نحو تحسين نوعية حياة الناس، واليوم نفخر بهذه الرؤية التي أتت ثمارها ومنحت كل شخص يعيش في الإمارات العربية المتحدة مستوى حياة متميز. وستبقى هذه الرؤية مصدر إلهامنا خلال عام التسامح؛ إذ سنواصل العمل بموجب الأفكار والقيم التي أرساها الشيخ زايد والتي تقوم على الحكمة والاحترام والاستدامة والتنمية البشرية وهي ما سيدفعنا للاستمرار والسعي نحو إحداث فرق ملموس في حياة الناس.

يملأنا شعور بالتفاؤل والإيجابية بأن مستقبل المرضى سيكون أفضل نظرًا للتطورات التي شهدها قطاع الرعاية الصحية مؤخرًا. ويزداد هذا الشعور قوة ونزداد نحن حماسًا لمستقبل مشرق بفضل دعم ومساندة الجهات المانحة. تسهم مبادرات مؤسسة الجليلة في مجال تمويل الأبحاث الهامة بتمكين الأطباء من الإطلاع على خيارات علاجية جديدة ومبتكرة وبالتالي فتح أبواب الأمل للمرضى.

وقبل أن نبدأ الفصل القادم من رحلتنا، اسمحوا لنا بالاحتفاء بإنجازات العام 2018 التي لم تكن ممكنة لولاكم ولولا دعم شركاءنا الأعزاء.

قطعنا خلال العقد الماضي شوطًا كبيرًا في مجال العلاج الطبي وحققنا إنجازات ضخمة يُشار إليها بالبنان. واليوم، نعدكم بإحداث نقلة نوعية غير مسبوقة في تاريخ الرعاية الصحية خلال العقد القادم. لا يزال التزامنا بدعم البحث العلمي قائمًا؛ فقد قدمنا 20 منحة جديدة لباحثين متميزين في مجالات رائدة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة مثل الدراسات المتعلقة بمرض السرطان وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والسكري والسمنة والصحة النفسية. إننا فخورين بالإنجاز الذي حققناه بالرغم من كوننا مؤسسة شابة؛ فقد قدمنا حوالي 100 منحة بحثية منذ عام 2014، واستثمرنا 25 مليون درهم إماراتي لتمكين الباحثين من كسر الحواجز وسبر أغوار العلوم والتوصّل إلى اكتشافات علمية يمكن ترجمتها لأدوات فعالة من شأنها تحسين العلاجات وإنقاذ حياة المرضى.

لطالما آمن الشيخ زايد بأن «التعليم مثل الفانوس الذي ينوّر طريقنا في الأزقّة المظلمة». واسترشادًا بهذا الفكر الثاقب، قمنا بتقديم 25 منحة دراسية لطلبة إماراتيين متميزين بهدف رفد قطاع الرعاية الصحية الإماراتي بكوادر وكفاءات عالية لخدمة أجيال المستقبل. كما احتفل برنامج تآلف التدريبي بتخريج 174 ولي أمر ومعلم ممن اكتسبوا القدرات والمهارات اللازمة التي تمكنهم من مساعدة المئات من الأطفال أصحاب الهمم وإنارة دربهم وتسليحهم بالعزيمة والإصرار. هذا البرنامج الأول من نوعه في مجال تمكين الأطفال لاكتشاف قدراتهم الكامنة وتعزيز أواصر التعاون والمشاركة بين أفراد المجتمع.

لا يمكننا الحديث عن إنجازاتنا في مجال الرعاية الصحية دون أن نذكر الأشخاص الذين تغيّرت حياتهم بفضل جودة الخدمات الصحية المقدمة. خلال عام زايد، تلقّى أكثر من 183 مريض محتاج بمن فيهم 123 طفلًا خدمات علاجية أنقذت حياتهم وفتحت لهم أفقًا جديدًا للمستقبل. وعلى الصعيد الدولي، قمنا بتقديم 1.43 مليون لقاح ضد مرض التيتانوس كجزء من مشاركتنا في حملة عالمية لحماية حياة الأمهات والأطفال في الدول النامية.

Dr Abdulkareem Sultan Al Olama

لا يمرّ يوم دون أن نشعر بالحافز والإلهام من قيادة صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم الذي يكرّس وقته وجهده لخدمة الآخرين ولا يتوان أبدًا عن التزامه نحو أمتنا العظيمة ومواطنينا الأكارم. مرّ على مسيرة الشيخ محمد في خدمة الأمة 50 عامًا، ونحن ننتهز هذه المناسبة لتجديد العهد والالتزام بمبادئ الحكم الثمانية التي تهدف إلى تحسين حياة الناس والمجتمعات التي نخدمها.

وبصفتنا عضو في مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية التي تهدف إلى الارتقاء بواقع العالم العربي من خلال العمل الإنساني والتنموي والمجتمعي، تفخر مؤسسة الجليلة باضطلاعها بدور هام في وضع الإنسانية على قمة الأولويات. ومنذ إنشائها، برهنت المؤسسة على أنها أهل لهذا الدور إذ قدمت يد المساعدة لأكثر من 5 مليون مستفيد محليًا ودوليًا ودعمت مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية الرامية إلى الارتقاء بحياة الإنسان.

نتمنى أن يكون عام التسامح عامًا مليئًا بالتعاطف والقبول والتفهم، عامٌ نُلهم فيه بعضنا البعض لجعل العالم مكانًا أفضل وترك بصمة نفخر بها. أرجو أن تواصلوا متابعة أخبارنا لعلّكم تجدون الإلهام والطاقة الإيجابية من قصص نجاحنا التي تسرد نماذج رائعة عن الشجاعة والعزيمة والابتكار والتي نفخر بكوننا جزء منها.

اسمحوا لي ولفريقي أن نتقدم لكم بالشكر الجزيل على دعمكم المتواصل وأن نتمنى لكم عامًا جديدًا عنوانه الصحة والازدهار.

د. عبدالكريم سلطان العلماء
الرئيس التنفيذي
عضو مجلس الإدارة
مؤسسة الجليلة

Our Impact

2018 Year in Review

HH-Sheikh-Mohammed
As we reflect on a remarkable Year of Zayed and welcome the new year with renewed hope we, at Al Jalila Foundation, begin by pledging our continued commitment to the vision of our Founder, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai, to position the UAE at the forefront of medical innovation. Al Jalila Foundation is underpinned by three pillars: treatment, education and research and everything we do is to improve lives be it through supporting a hopeful patient, an aspiring student or a pioneering scientist. Each step we take brings with it a new sense of hope lighting the path for a brighter tomorrow. 2018 saw Al Jalila Foundation invest AED 20 million in a number of healthcare programs to transform lives.

The Year of Zayed mirrored the philanthropic spirit of the UAE’s Founding Father, Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, who as one of the world’s greatest humanitarians extended his generosity and support improving the quality of life enjoyed by all people in the UAE today. As we embrace the Year of Tolerance we will continue to pay tribute to Sheikh Zayed and his legacy whose values of wisdom, respect, sustainability and human development push us ever further to make a difference to the lives of people.

We are optimistic that the future is brighter for patients because of the advances in the healthcare industry and we are encouraged by the support we receive from our donor community. By funding life-changing research, we give doctors the power to shed light onto new and better treatment options, and ultimately bring hope to patients.

Before we begin the next chapter of our journey we would like to take a moment to celebrate the achievements of 2018 that you, our valued partners, have made possible.

In the past decade alone we have seen great advances in medical treatment and longevity with promise that in the next decade healthcare will make a greater leap forward than at any time in history. Our commitment to medical research is steadfast and we have awarded 20 new seed grants to brilliant researchers in the UAE leading studies in the areas of cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, obesity and mental health. We are proud that as a young foundation we have awarded almost 100 research grants since 2014, investing AED 25 million to empower researchers to push the boundaries of science in their quest for medical discoveries that can be translated into improved treatment and therapies to save patients’ lives.

Sheikh Zayed believed Education is like a lantern which lights your way in a dark alley.” and honouring this value we awarded 24 scholarships to outstanding Emirati students fortifying the UAE’s medical landscape for generations to come. Our Ta’alouf training program also saw the graduation of 174 parents and teachers brightening the lives of hundreds of children of determination and their families. The first of its kind flagship program has been instrumental in empowering children to reach their full potential and has brought communities closer together.

Our healthcare achievements cannot be discussed without mentioning the people whose precious lives have been forever changed thanks to quality medical care.  Throughout the Year of Zayed more than 183 patients in need, including 123 young children, were able to receive lifesaving treatment giving them a new lease of life and renewed hope for the future. Internationally, we have provided 1.43 million tetanus vaccines as part of a global campaign to protect the lives of mothers and babies in underdeveloped countries.

Dr Abdulkareem Sultan Al Olama

Every day we are inspired by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed’s leadership, his dedication to be of service to others and his unwavering commitment to our great nation and its citizens. On the occasion of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed’s 50 Years of Service to the Nation we pledge to uphold the eight governing principles to enhance the lives of the people, and the communities, we serve.

As a member of Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives (MBRGI), which aims to improve the Arab world through humanitarian, developmental and community work, Al Jalila Foundation is proud to play a role in ‘putting humanity first’ and since inception has provided aid to more than 5 million beneficiaries, locally and internationally, supporting MBRGI in its mission to improve human life.

May the Year of Tolerance be one of acceptance, compassion and understanding inspiring each one of us to make the world a better place leaving a legacy that we can all be proud of. I hope that you will continue to follow our news and find inspiration from the stories of courage, determination and innovation that we, together, have been privileged to be part of.

My team and I extend our heartfelt gratitude for your continued support and wish you a healthy and prosperous new year.

Dr Abdulkareem Sultan Al Olama
Chief Executive Officer
Member of the Board of Directors
Al Jalila Foundation